écrivez à votre député(e)

#LesVaccinsÇaMarche

impliquez-vous sans tarder!

take-action-arrows-yellow

écrivez une lettre ouverte aux journaux

en savoir plus

Écrivez une lettre ouverte aux journaux sur les thèmes reliés à des évènements actuels ou en réaction à un sujet déjà abordé par le journal. Faites preuve de créativité en trouvant un élément accrocheur tiré du journal puis faites un lien avec notre campagne. Pour faciliter la rédaction de votre lettre ouverte et pour que celle-ci soit publiée, consultez nos instructions détaillées.

pourquoi rédiger une lettre ouverte aux journaux

La rédaction d’une lettre ouverte aux journaux permet de faire entendre son opinion rapidement. Elle ne nécessite pas beaucoup de recherche et peut être brève et concise – il suffit de 200 à 500 mots! Quand le temps presse, on choisit de rédiger une lettre ouverte aux journaux.

conseil d'expert

Un texte court et concis augmente votre chance d’être publié. (Et n’ayez pas peur d’être audacieux!)

conseil pratique

C’est grâce à vous si les politiciens occupent leur fonction! En tant que Canadiens, nous les avons portés au pouvoir pour qu’ils nous représentent. Pour cette raison, ils veulent être mis au courant des enjeux qui nous tiennent à cœur.

écrivez à votre député(e)

en savoir plus

Écrivez à votre député afin de vous présenter et partagez une histoire ou un exemple personnel sur un sujet qui vous préoccupe. Votre député travaille pour vous, alors assurez-vous de vous informer et utilisez nos instructions détaillées pour vous aider à vous lancer.

pourquoi écrire à votre député

Écrivez à votre député si vous souhaitez partager votre opinion sur une question qui vous préoccupe. Une lettre ou un courriel personnalisé de votre part signifie qu’il y a un électeur dans sa circonscription qui a à cœur une situation et dont l’opinion doit être représentée sur la Colline du Parlement.

conseil d'expert

L’envoi par courrier d’une lettre écrite à la main et personnalisée et l’un des meilleurs moyens pour capter l’attention de votre député.

conseil pratique

Au moment de rédiger votre lettre à votre député, pourquoi ne pas en faire une activité familiale? Demandez à vos enfants de faire un dessin sur le thème de notre campagne en cours puis ajoutez ce dessin à votre lettre. Vous pouvez aussi prendre une photo de votre famille et la partager avec votre député sur les médias sociaux, tout en prenant soin de taguer @ResultsCda.

utiliser les médias sociaux

en savoir plus

Les médias sociaux permettent de faire entendre son opinion rapidement et fréquemment. En taguant votre député ou ministre, vous donnerez à la vaccination une visibilité immédiate qui pourra être amplifiée à la suite du partage et de la republication de votre message. Consultez notre marche à suivre ou bien utilisez nos tweets prêts à être publiés et soyez actifs sur les réseaux sociaux sans tarder!

pourquoi utiliser les médias sociaux

Les médias sociaux sont un moyen rapide et facile pour prendre la parole et faire connaître à votre député les enjeux qui vous tiennent à cœur et qui sont liés à notre campagne en cours. Retenez l’attention du public et dites au Canada qu’il doit maintenir son rôle de leader sur la scène mondiale.

conseil d'expert

Twitter est une plateforme axée sur les nouvelles! 71 % de ses utilisateurs le consultent quotidiennement pour s’informer des dernières nouvelles. Par conséquent, Twitter est une excellente plateforme pour partager et diffuser vos nouvelles.

conseil pratique

Les politiciens sont des gens comme nous! N’hésitez pas à utiliser les médias sociaux pour leur faire part des enjeux qui vous préoccupent. 94 % des Canadiens sont présents sur au moins l’une des plateformes qu’offrent les médias sociaux; c’est donc tout à fait normal que les politiciens y soient également.

voir l’ensemble des actions réalisées

action-bluebox-arrow-next

instructions détaillées pour écrivez à votre député(e)

Notre campagne il est temps de #LesVaccinsÇaMarche s'assure que les enfants reçoivent les vaccins qui sauvent des vies. Avec votre aide, nous pouvons nous assurer que le Canada demeure l’un des leaders en matière de santé mondiale en prenant un engagement financier solide envers l’Initiative mondiale pour l’éradication de la poliomyélite (IMEP) et Gavi, l'Alliance du vaccin.

Demande no1 : Que le Canada verse 215 millions $ à l’IMEP au cours des 4 prochaines années.

Demande no2 : Que le Canada verse 600 millions $ à Gavi au cours des 5 prochaines années.

MP \ ˈem-ˈpē \
: membre élu d’un parlement

Écrivez à votre député(e) pour lui faire part de votre soutien à l’investissement dans les vaccins et pour lui dire pourquoi vous pensez qu’ils sont importants (par exemple : « Je crois que les vaccins sont efficaces pour protéger les personnes de tous âges contre les maladies. »). Partagez cet article de Gavi et notre document sur la vaccination pour votre député afin qu’ils puissent se renseigner sur l’importance de la vaccination en cette période de pandémie de COVID-19. Partagez l’impact qu’a le coronavirus sur votre vie et remerciez votre député(e) pour le travail qu’il (elle) accomplit dans votre communauté.

Pour obtenir plus d’informations sur la rédaction d’une lettre à son député, suivez nos instructions détaillées ci-dessous. 

lisez nos principaux conseils

  1. Renseignez-vous sur le moyen de communication que préfère votre député. Est-ce le courriel, la lettre écrite à la main, les médias sociaux?
  2. Soyez concis et précis – ayez une demande claire.
  3. Remerciez votre député pour une réalisation ou un accomplissement récent ou un accomplissement qu’il a fait.
  4. Demandez toujours une réponse!
  5. Puisque les députés reçoivent beaucoup de correspondance automatisée, l’envoi d’une lettre rédigée à la main ou un courriel personnalisé vous permettra de vous démarquer. Votre député saura reconnaître que vous y avez mis de votre temps.

conseil pratique

Envoyez-nous un courriel for MP insider tips that can make your letter/email stand out, including the latest MP leave behind.

suivez ces 7 étapes

  1. À l’aide de votre code postal, identifiez votre député.
  2. Familiarisez-vous avec notre campagne.
  3. Trouvez un lien qui unit notre campagne et un sujet digne d’une couverture médiatique, ou un élément accrocheur qui vous inspire. Voici quelques pistes pour vous aider :
    a. refer ici nos dates importantes, nos mots-clics, nos étiquettes et nos mots-clés
    b. faites une recherche sur le Web; lisez de récents articles ou consultez des ressources externes
    c. référez-vous aux exemples de lettres ouvertes aux journaux et de lettres d'opinion déjà publiées
  4. Écrivez une lettre/un courriel à votre député pour vous présenter et pour lui dire ce que vous aimeriez qu’il fasse vis-à-vis un enjeu de notre campagne en cours. Vous trouverez un exemple ci-dessous.
    a. ajoutez l’adresse courriel de votre député (normalement, on l’écrit ainsi : prénom.nomdefamille@parl.gc.ca) ou trouvez son adresse postale
    b. commencez par vous présenter si votre député ne vous connaît pas
    c. utilisez vos propres mots et suivez le format EPIC dans lesconseils pour écrire à son député")
    d. demandez une réponse à votre lettre /courriel
    e. incluez votre nom, adresse postale et numéro de téléphone (et adresse courriel s’il s’agit d’une lettre écrite à la main)
  5. Cliquez sur « envoyer » s’il s’agit d’un courriel. S’il s’agit d’une lettre envoyée par la poste, nul besoin d’y apposer un timbre!
  6. Effectuez un suivi auprès de votre député, par téléphone ou par courriel, s’il s’est écoulé plus d’une semaine depuis l’envoi de votre courriel — ou plus de 4 semaines s’il s’agit d’une lettre postale. Vous trouverez ci-dessous un exemple de courriel de suivi.
  7. Si vous faites partie d’un groupe Résultats, faites savoir à votre chef de groupe que vous avez eu un entretien avec votre député. Et si vous ne faites pas partie d’un groupe, pourquoi ne pas songer à le faire? En attendant, veuillez remplir le formulaire « Actions menées » disponible en ligne.

voir un exemple d'une lettre/courriel

le 9 mars 2020 

[insérer le nom de votre député(e)] 

Chambre des communes, 

Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0A6 

Objet : Sauver des vies avec le Fonds mondial

Chèr(e) [insérer le nom de votre député(e)] 

Je vous écris aujourd’hui en tant que membre de votre circonscription et comme personne préoccupée par toutes ces êtres humains qui, à travers le monde, tombent malades à cause de maladies évitables. En guise d’introduction, je suis un étudiant en science infirmière à l’Université d’Ottawa, et la santé est un sujet qui m’a toujours passionné. 

Dans un premier temps, laissez-moi vous remercier pour tous les efforts que vous faites pour améliorer notre communauté et pour votre participation aux évènements communautaires. S’ajoute à cela votre contribution au financement de logements pour personnes aînées situés dans le quartier Bayward. 

Concernant l’enjeu de la souffrance dans le monde, en 2017, il y a eu environ 1,7 million de décès reliés à la TB. Cela représente un risque important pour la santé. La TB est la maladie infectieuse qui cause le plus grand nombre de décès dans le monde. Nous savons qu’il est possible de mettre fin à ces maladies et autres épidémies. Et dans les faits, les taux de mortalité dus au VIH, à la TB et au paludisme ont chuté d’environ 40 % depuis l’an 2000. 

Des partenariats public-privé, comme le Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme, accroissent de manière efficace la protection contre ces maladies. Parmi ses nombreux accomplissements, le Fonds a permis à 15 millions de personnes d’avoir accès à un traitement contre la TB. En 2017, le Canada s’est engagé à verser 785 millions $ au Fonds mondial pour lutter contre le VIH/Sida, la TB et le paludisme. 

En 2019, le Fonds mondial cherche à renouveler les engagements des donateurs et des partenaires mondiaux. Plusieurs pays dotés d’une économie aussi forte que celle du Canada ont promis de verser des milliards au Fonds mondial. Selon moi, le Canada a la capacité financière nécessaire pour accroître notre engagement de 1,5 %. 

Avec votre siège au Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du développement international, je vous incite fortement à utiliser votre voix et à appuyer cette demande. Vous pouvez le faire en écrivant au ministre du Développement international. 

Si vous pouviez me faire parvenir une copie de votre correspondance avec le ministre, cela serait grandement apprécié. Je vous remercie d’avoir pris le temps de vous occuper de mon courriel et j’attends avec impatience votre réponse. 

Cordialement, 

Max Pelletier 

5 rue Principal 

Ottawa, ON, K1A 2B3 

Tél. : (555) 456-7890

C : max.pelletier@email.com

conseil pratique

Ne mentionnez pas Résultats Canada dans votre lettre – ainsi vous donnerez plus de poids à votre opinion personnelle! 

voir un exemple d'un suivi

Objet : Re : Fonds mondial

Chèr(e) [insérer le nom de votre député(e)]

J’espère que vous vous portez bien. Je vous écris aujourd’hui pour faire le suivi d’un courriel que je vous ai fait parvenir le [date], que vous trouverez ci-bas et qui porte sur votre soutien au Fonds mondial. Je vous saurais gré d’y répondre dès que possible. Veuillez m’informer si je puis vous fournir des renseignements supplémentaires. Je vous remercie pour votre temps et considération.

Cordialement,

Max Pelletier 

5 rue Principal 

Ottawa, ON, K1A 2B3 

Tél. : (555) 456-7890

C : max.pelletier@email.com

conseil pratique

Au moment du suivi, répondez à votre destinataire via votre message original afin de pouvoir vous y référer.

Vous trouverez d'autres ressources to help you write your MP, along with key dates, hashtags, tags and keywords found on our campaigns page ici.

« Je connais ma députée depuis un certain temps et j’ai remarqué que ses réponses sont plus détaillées lorsque je lui fais parvenir une lettre écrite à la main. Je peux dire qu’elle apprécie grandement les lettres écrites à la main — de nos jours, nous négligeons le pouvoir des lettres. »

Josh, bénévole Résultats
searcharrow-circle-upprinter

write your Member of Parliament (MP)

#LeaveNoOneBehind

take action now!

take-action-arrows-yellow

sign a petition/ letter

learn more

Sign a petition to quickly and easily voice your opinion with other like-minded individuals about the issue you care about. An online petition demonstrates to Members of Parliament (MP) and Ministers that the issue is important to you and your community, and allows you to get others aware and involved.

why use petitions

Petitions can send a signal of public opinion to decision makers and can alert the media that there is a story they should write about. They can be a catalyst for change on their own or be one more step in the campaign journey. Petitions play an important role in our democracy.

expert fact

There is growing evidence about how online petitions affect legislation and public opinion. They can be very effective at creating change - your signature really is making a difference!

secret tip

Petitions don’t always need a big number to make a big impact. They can simply be the basis to start conversations that change how people think.

write a letter to the editor (LTE)

learn more

Write a letter to the editor (LTE) on topics related to current events in the media or something already in print. Be creative by finding a hook and connecting it to our current campaign. Use our step-by-step instructions to write your LTE and get it published in the media.

why write an LTE

Write a letter to the editor (LTE) if you want to make your opinion heard in a timely manner. You don’t need a lot of research, and your LTE can be brief and to-the-point - just 200-500 words! When time is of the essence, choose to write an LTE.

expert fact

You have a better chance at getting published if you keep it short and sweet (and don’t be afraid to be bold!)

secret tip

Politicians are in their jobs because of you! As Canadians, we have voted them into office to represent us. So they want to hear from you to learn what issues you feel are most important.

write your Member of Parliament (MP)

learn more

Write to your Member of Parliament (MP) as a way of introducing yourself and share a personal story or example on a topic that concerns you. Your MP works for you so be sure to get informed, and use our step-by-step instructions to help you get started.

why write your MP

Write to your MP (Member of Parliament) if you want to share your opinion about an issue that concerns you. A personalized letter or email from you means that there is a constituent in their riding who cares, and whose opinion needs to be represented on Parliament Hill.

expert fact

Sending a personalized handwritten letter by mail is one of the most influential ways to get your MP’s attention.

secret tip

Why not make writing your MP a family activity? Ask your children to draw a picture linked to our current campaign and include it with your letter. You can also take a photo of your family and share it with your MP on social media and tag @ResultsCda.

use your voice on social media

learn more

Use social media if you want to get your opinion out quickly and frequently. Tag your Member of Parliament (MP) or Ministers to get immediate attention on our current campaign which can be amplified through retweeting and sharing. Use our step-by-step instructions or pre-filled Tweets and post something now!

why use social media

Social media is a quick and easy way to speak up and tell your Member of Parliament (MP) that you care about immunization and access to vaccines. Get public attention and let Canada know that they should continue to be a global leader.

expert fact

Twitter is a news-centric platform! 71% of Twitter users get their daily news from Twitter making it a great platform to share and spread your news.

secret tip

Politicians are people too! Don’t be afraid to use social media to reach out to them about the issues that are important to you. 94% of online Canadians are on at least 1 social media platform so it makes sense for politicians to be active on social as well.

see all actions taken

action-bluebox-arrow-next

step-by-step instructions for writing your MP

Our #LeaveNoOneBehind campaign this month focuses on the importance of climate change and its impact on health, food security and nutrition. In the fight against COVID-19, we need Canada to support a global and equitable response by investing in the strengthening of vulnerable communities from the direct and indirect impacts of this crisis.

Ask #1: Canada to support a global and equitable response to COVID-19 by investing in the strengthening of health systems in low-income countries and ensuring that treatment and a vaccine be made available to all.

Ask #2: Canada to support the ability of countries in dealing with the secondary impacts of COVID-19 including major challenges to food security and nutrition made worse by climate change.

MP \ ˈem-ˈpē \
: an elected member of a parliament

Write to the Chair of the Health Committee MP Ron McKinnon (Ron.McKinnon@parl.gc.ca), and Co-Chairs MP Matt Jeneroux (Matt.Jeneroux@parl.gc.ca) and MP Luc Thériault (Luc.Theriault@parl.gc.ca) explaining why it’s crucial that health innovations discovered with Canadian public funds for COVID-19 be made affordable, accessible and available to all - don’t forget to copy (cc) your Member of Parliament (MP)!

about the Health Committee

The Standing Committee on Health in the House of Commons is responsible for providing parliamentary oversight of Health Canada, which is the department currently rolling out funding for COVID-19 related research. We must ensure that any vaccines or diagnostic tools developed for COVID-19 with public funding remain equitable and accessible to all – both at home and abroad. 

You can also copy and paste this pre-prepared letter and mail/email it to the Honourable Patty Hajdu (Patty.Hajdu@parl.gc.ca), Minister of Health to ask that any public funding for medical research and development for COVID-19 include enforceable requirements so that everyone can afford and access the final products developed.

Use our step-by-step instructions below for more information on writing your MP. 

read our top tips

  1. Know your MP and what speaks most to them: email? handwritten letter? social media?
  2. Be succinct and to the point - have one clear ask.
  3. Thank your MP for something recent that they’ve done or accomplished.
  4. Make sure to always ask for a response!
  5. Writing your own letter/email will go a long way. MPs receive a lot of correspondence and personalized (not automatic) letters/emails will stand out from the pile as they’ll know that you’ve taken the time

secret tip

Email us for MP insider tips that can make your letter/email stand out, including the latest MP leave behind.

follow these 7 tips

  1. Use your postal code to find out who your MP is.
  2. Familiarize yourself with our current campaign.
  3. Connect our campaign and your opinion with a newsworthy topic or hook that inspires you. Try these ideas:
    a. refer here to our key dates, hashtags, tags and keywords
    b. do internet research, read the latest news articles, or use external resources
    c. refer to past volunteer LTEs and op-eds to see published examples
  4. Write your letter/email to let your MP know who you are, and what you would like them to do about the current campaign issue. See an example of a letter/email below.
    a. add your MP’s email address (usually it is: firstname.lastname@parl.gc.ca) or find their mailing address
    b. start by introducing yourself if your MP doesn’t know you
    c. use your own words (refer to the EPIC format in "how to write to your MP")
    d. ask for a response back to your letter/email
    e. include your name, mailing address, telephone number (and email if it’s a handwritten letter)
  5. Press send if you’re sending your letter by email. If you’re mailing it, no stamp is required!
  6. Follow up with your MP via phone or by email if you haven’t heard back within 1 week for email, or 4 weeks for mail. See a follow-up letter/email example below.
  7. If you belong to a Results group, let your Group Leader know that you’ve submitted a letter/email to your MP. If you are not part of a group, consider joining one! Until then, fill out this “actions taken” online form.

see an example of a letter/email

March 9, 2020 

[insert MP name] 

House of Commons, 

Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0A6 

Subject: Saving lives with the Global Fund

Dear [insert MP name]: 

I write to you today as a member of your constituency who is concerned by so many people getting sick from preventable diseases across the globe. By way of introduction, I am a student of nursing at the University of Ottawa and I have always had a passion for health. 

I would like to start by thanking you for all of your efforts in improving our local community with your participation in community events and your contribution in providing funding for seniors’ housing in the Bayward district. 

In regards to the issue of global suffering, there were approximately 1.7million tuberculosis (TB) related deaths worldwide in 2017. This poses a significant health threat, and TB is now the world’s most deadly infectious disease. We know that this disease and other epidemics can be ended, and indeed deaths from HIV, TB and malaria have dropped by about 40% since 2000. 

Public-private partnerships such as the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, TB and Malaria are effective in increasing protection against diseases, and have helped 15 million people access treatment for TB, amongst other achievements. In 2017, Canada committed $785 million to the Global Fund to fight HIV/AIDS, TB and malaria. 

In 2019, the Global Fund is seeking from donors and partners globally. Many countries with just as large economies have pledged billions of dollars to the Global Fund. I believe Canada has the fiscal ability to increase our pledge commitment by 1.5%. 

With your seat on the Foreign Affairs and International Development Committee, I highly encourage you to use your voice to support this request. You can do so by writing to the Minister of International Development. 

If you could forward to me a copy of your correspondence to the Minister, that would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to attend to my email, and I look forward to your response. 

Sincerely, 

Chris Smith 

5 Main Street 

Ottawa, ON, K1A 2B3 

T: (555) 456-7890

E: chris.smith@email.com

secret tip

Don’t include mention of Results Canada - this keeps your letter looking like it’s your opinion, because it is! 

see an example of a follow-up letter/email

Subject: Re: Global Fund

Dear [insert MP name]:

I hope this email finds you well. I would like to follow up on a previous email found below sent on [date] in regards to your support on the Global Fund. I would kindly appreciate a response as soon as possible. Please let me know if I can provide further information. Thank you very much for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

Chris Smith 

5 Main Street 

Ottawa, ON, K1A 2B3 

T: (555) 456-7890

E: chris.smith@email.com

secret tip

When following up, reply using your original letter or email so you can reference back to it.

See all our resources to help you write your MP, along with key dates, hashtags, tags and keywords found on our campaigns page here.

“I have known my MP for a little while now and I have noticed that when I hand write a letter to her, her response will actually be more thorough. I can tell she really appreciates the handwritten notes - we overlook so much now the power of letters.”

- Josh, Results volunteer
searcharrow-circle-upprinter