demandez à votre député de signer une lettre

#LutterPourCeQuiCompte

take-action-arrows-yellow

passez à l’action sans tarder!

demandez à votre député de signer une lettre

en savoir plus
pourquoi écrire à votre député

Write to your Member of Parliament if you want to make your voice heard by sharing your personal thoughts and stories about why a particular issue is so meaningful to you. Building a one-on-one relationship with your MP is the most effective way to make your opinion known on Parliament Hill.

conseil d'expert

Entretenir des liens avec votre député.e est un important levier de changement, car vous pouvez alors les informer, les influencer et les inciter à passer à l’action sur des enjeux qui vous sont chers.

conseil pratique

Avant d’approcher votre député.e, faites une recherche pour mieux comprendre leur parcours, leurs expériences passées, leurs passions et leurs priorités qui pourraient être utiles dans le cadre de vos échanges!

écrivez une lettre d'opinion

en savoir plus
pourquoi rédiger une lettre d'opinion

La lettre d’opinion vous permet de partager vos connaissances, votre opinion et votre passion, et ce indépendamment du point de vue du journal. Écrivez jusqu’à 750 mots pour faire entendre votre voix. Explorez en détail les enjeux de notre campagne, présentez des observations et des idées et contestez le statu quo.

conseil d'expert

Les lecteurs souhaitent lire sur les questions qui dominent dans les nouvelles et c’est ce que les rédacteurs en chef veulent publier. Le synchronisme est essentiel!

conseil pratique

Malheureusement, vous ne pourrez éliminer l’extrême pauvreté en 750 mots. Alors, concentrez-vous à souligner un seul point de manière claire et convaincante.

écrivez une lettre ouverte aux journaux

en savoir plus
pourquoi écrire une lettre ouverte aux journaux

La rédaction d’une lettre ouverte aux journaux permet de faire entendre son opinion rapidement. Elle ne nécessite pas beaucoup de recherche et peut être brève et concise – il suffit de 150 à 200 mots! Quand le temps presse, on choisit de rédiger une lettre ouverte aux journaux.

conseil d'expert

Une fois la lettre soumise, on peut chercher notre nom sur internet ou faire un suivi avec le journal pour s’informer si elle a été publiée ou quand elle le sera.

conseil pratique

Votre lettre n’a pas besoin d’être parfaite et il n’est pas nécessaire d’être un.e expert.e pour donner votre opinion. Il suffit d’avoir un enjeu qui vous tient à cœur.

utilisez les médias sociaux

en savoir plus
pourquoi utiliser les médias sociaux

Les médias sociaux sont un moyen rapide et facile pour prendre la parole et faire connaître à votre député les enjeux qui vous tiennent à cœur et qui sont liés à notre campagne en cours. Retenez l’attention du public et dites au Canada qu’il doit maintenir son rôle de leader sur la scène mondiale.

conseil d'expert

Les tweets accompagnés d’images sont 160 % plus retweetés que ceux avec texte seulement.

conseil pratique

Lorsque vous publiez sur les médias sociaux, soyez authentique, exprimez-vous avec votre cœur. Même en ligne, les gens veulent échanger avec d’autres êtres humains, alors soyez vous-même et votre message passera mieux!

Résumé de l'appel à l'action 

Notre appel à l’action du mois de juin s’inscrit dans notre campagne s’échelonnant sur plusieurs mois et vient appuyer la septième reconstitution des ressources du Fonds mondial. Il porte sur l’une des communautés les plus touchées par le VIH/sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme – la communauté LGBTQ2+ – et aborde les raisons pour lesquelles elle doit être au cœur de notre lutte contre ces trois maladies. Le Fonds mondial est la solution pour mettre fin à ces épidémies et pour prendre les mesures nécessaires afin de bâtir #LeMondeDontNousAvonsBesoin en renforçant les systèmes mondiaux pour un monde plus en santé, plus équitable et plus résiliant à de futures pandémies.

MP \ ˈem-ˈpē \
: membre élu d’un parlement

Cette lettre représente une priorité du travail de plaidoyer du Fonds mondial. Nous souhaitons qu’il y ait le plus grand nombre de député.e.s possible qui la cosignent. Ne vous contentez pas de leur envoyer un courriel. Appelez un.e membre de leur personnel pour faire un suivi.  

Un des objectifs de la Semaine d’action pour #LutterPourCeQuiCompte, qui a lieu du 30 mai au 3 juin, consiste à s’assurer que les député.e.s signent la lettre adressée au premier ministre Justin Trudeau. Cette lettre vise à encourager le Canada à continuer d’appuyer le Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme (le Fonds mondial) en annonçant un nouvel investissement pour la septième reconstitution des ressources lors de la Conférence internationale sur le sida à la fin du mois de juillet. 

Bien que la date officielle pour la reconstitution des ressources du Fonds mondial soit à l’automne 2022, la Conférence internationale sur le sida représente un événement stratégique pour annoncer un investissement du Canada et pour consolider son rôle de leadership dans le renforcement des systèmes de santé plus équitables en vue d’un monde plus résilient face aux pandémies.  

Écrivez un courriel à votre député.e pour démontrer votre appui en faveur d’un investissement renouvelé auprès du Fonds mondial. Expliquez pourquoi c’est important pour vous et demandez-lui si elle ou il accepterait d’ajouter son nom à la lettre afin d’encourager le premier ministre à annoncer un nouvel investissement. Vous pouvez partager cette liste de parlementaires ayant déjà signé la lettre à titre incitatif. 

Votre député.e a déjà signé la lettre? 

Consultez cette liste de parlementaires pour découvrir si votre député.e a déjà signé la lettre. Vous pouvez toujours lui envoyer un courriel pour le/la remercier! Vous pouvez aussi publier un mot de remerciement sur les médias sociaux et mentionner votre député.e en ajoutant le mot-clic #Canada4Results! 

Faites un suivi téléphonique après deux semaines pour vous assurer que votre courriel a bien été reçu et consulté. Invitez votre député.e à vous rappeler ou à vous rencontrer en juin si il ou elle souhaite en discuter davantage. Vous pourrez ainsi démarrer ou consolider le lien que vous entretenez avec votre député.e. Cela lui permettra aussi de vous poser des questions avant de signer la lettre. 

La demande : Pour lutter contre la pandémie de COVID-19, favoriser la relance mondiale et se préparer aux menaces futures, le Canada doit augmenter son enveloppe d’aide internationale (EAI) de 1,5 milliard $ CA en plus de ses engagements financiers actuels de 2020-21 pour atteindre 9 milliards $ CA dans le #Budget2022. 

lisez nos principaux conseils

  1. Renseignez-vous sur le moyen de communication que préfère votre député. Est-ce le courriel, la lettre écrite à la main, les médias sociaux?
  2. Soyez concis et précis – ayez une demande claire.
  3. Remerciez votre député pour une réalisation ou un accomplissement récent ou un accomplissement qu’il a fait.
  4. Demandez toujours une réponse!
  5. Puisque les députés reçoivent beaucoup de correspondance automatisée, l’envoi d’une lettre rédigée à la main ou un courriel personnalisé vous permettra de vous démarquer. Votre député saura reconnaître que vous y avez mis de votre temps.

suivez ces 7 étapes

  1. À l’aide de votre code postal, identifiez votre député.e is. 
  2. Familiarisez-vous avec notre campagne actuelle.
  3. Trouvez un lien qui unit notre campagne et un sujet digne d’une couverture médiatique, ou un élément accrocheur qui vous inspire. Voici quelques pistes pour vous aider :
    • refer ici nos dates importantes, nos mots-clics, nos étiquettes et nos mots-clés
    • do internet research, read the latest news articles, or use external resources
    • refer to past volunteer LTEs and op-eds to see déjà publiées
  4. Écrivez une lettre/un courriel à votre député pour vous présenter et pour lui dire ce que vous aimeriez qu’il fasse vis-à-vis un enjeu de notre campagne en cours. Vous trouverez un exemple ci-dessous.
    • add your MP’s email address (usually it is: firstname.lastname@parl.gc.ca) or find their mailing address
    • start by introducing yourself if your MP doesn’t know you
    • use your own words (refer to the EPIC format in "conseils pour écrire à son député")
    • ask for a response back to your letter/email
    • include your name, mailing address, telephone number (and email if it’s a handwritten letter)
  5. Press send if you’re sending your letter by email. If you’re mailing it, no stamp is required!
  6. Follow up with your MP via phone or by email if you haven’t heard back within 1 week for email, or 4 weeks for mail. See a follow-up letter/email example below.
  7. If you belong to a Results group, let your Group Leader know that you’ve submitted a letter/email to your MP. If you are not part of a group, consider songer à le faire? En attendant, veuillez remplir le formulaire « Actions menées » disponible en ligne.

voir un exemple d'une lettre/courriel

9 août 2018 

Monsieur John Doe, Député 

Chambre des communes, 

Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0A6 

Objet : Sauver des vies avec le Fonds mondial

Cher Monsieur Doe, 

Je vous écris aujourd’hui en tant que membre de votre circonscription et comme personne préoccupée par toutes ces êtres humains qui, à travers le monde, tombent malades à cause de maladies évitables. En guise d’introduction, je suis un étudiant en science infirmière à l’Université d’Ottawa, et la santé est un sujet qui m’a toujours passionné. 

Dans un premier temps, laissez-moi vous remercier pour tous les efforts que vous faites pour améliorer notre communauté et pour votre participation aux évènements communautaires. S’ajoute à cela votre contribution au financement de logements pour personnes aînées situés dans le quartier Bayward. 

Concernant l’enjeu de la souffrance dans le monde, en 2017, il y a eu environ 1,7 million de décès reliés à la TB. Cela représente un risque important pour la santé. La TB est la maladie infectieuse qui cause le plus grand nombre de décès dans le monde. Nous savons qu’il est possible de mettre fin à ces maladies et autres épidémies. Et dans les faits, les taux de mortalité dus au VIH, à la TB et au paludisme ont chuté d’environ 40 % depuis l’an 2000. 

Des partenariats public-privé, comme le Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme, accroissent de manière efficace la protection contre ces maladies. Parmi ses nombreux accomplissements, le Fonds a permis à 15 millions de personnes d’avoir accès à un traitement contre la TB. En 2017, le Canada s’est engagé à verser 785 millions $ au Fonds mondial pour lutter contre le VIH/Sida, la TB et le paludisme. 

En 2019, le Fonds mondial cherche à renouveler les engagements des donateurs et des partenaires mondiaux. Plusieurs pays dotés d’une économie aussi forte que celle du Canada ont promis de verser des milliards au Fonds mondial. Selon moi, le Canada a la capacité financière nécessaire pour accroître notre engagement de 1,5 %. 

Avec votre siège au Comité permanent des affaires étrangères et du développement international, je vous incite fortement à utiliser votre voix et à appuyer cette demande. Vous pouvez le faire en écrivant au ministre du Développement international. 

Si vous pouviez me faire parvenir une copie de votre correspondance avec le ministre, cela serait grandement apprécié. Je vous remercie d’avoir pris le temps de vous occuper de mon courriel et j’attends avec impatience votre réponse. 

Cordialement, 

Bob Citizen 

5 rue Smith 

Ottawa, ON, K1A 2B3 

Tél. : (555) 456-7890

E: bob.citizen@gmail.com

voir un exemple d'un suivi

Objet : Re : Fonds mondial

Cher Monsieur Doe,

J’espère que vous vous portez bien. Je vous écris aujourd’hui pour faire le suivi d’un courriel que je vous ai fait parvenir le [date], que vous trouverez ci-bas et qui porte sur votre soutien au Fonds mondial. Je vous saurais gré d’y répondre dès que possible. Veuillez m’informer si je puis vous fournir des renseignements supplémentaires. Je vous remercie pour votre temps et considération.

Cordialement,

Bob Citizen 

5 rue Smith 

Ottawa, ON, K1A 2B3 

Tél. : (555) 456-7890

conseil pratique

MPs receive a lot of emails so be sure to come up with a catchy subject line to make yours stand out.

Vous trouverez d'autres ressources pour vous aider à écrire à votre député de même que des dates à retenir, des mots-clics et des mots clés se trouvant sur notre page appel à l'action  .

Vos député.e.s travaillent en fin de compte pour vous et vous avez du pouvoir dans votre relation avec eux ! 

– Lindsay Sheridan, membre de l’équipe de Résultats Canada

recherchearrow-circle-up

ask your MP to sign a letter

#FightForWhatCounts

take-action-arrows-yellow

take action now!

ask your MP to sign a letter

learn more
why write your MP

Write to your Member of Parliament if you want to make your voice heard by sharing your personal thoughts and stories about why a particular issue is so meaningful to you. Building a one-on-one relationship with your MP is the most effective way to make your opinion known on Parliament Hill.

expert fact

Building a relationship with your Member of Parliament is a critical lever of change as you can educate, influence, and inspire them to take action on the issues you care about.

secret tip

Before introducing yourself to your Member of Parliament, do some research to understand more about their background, past careers, passions, priorities, and facts that could be helpful when you engage with them!

write an op-ed

learn more
why write an op-ed

Write an op-ed to share your knowledge, opinion and passion independently from the newspaper’s viewpoint. Use up to 750 words to make your voice heard by exploring our campaign issue in detail, presenting new insights and ideas, and challenging the status-quo.

expert fact

When an issue is dominating the news, that’s what readers want to read about and op-ed editors want to publish. Timing is essential!

secret tip

Unfortunately, you can’t eliminate extreme poverty with 750 words, so focus on making a single point clearly and persuasively.

write a letter to the editor (LTE)

learn more
why write an LTE

Write an LTE if you want to make your opinion heard in a timely manner. You don’t need a lot of research, and your LTE can be brief and to-the-point - just 150-200 words! When time is of the essence, choose to write an LTE.

expert fact

Once submitted, you can track your letter by doing an internet search of your name and following up with the publication to find out if/when it is getting published.

secret tip

Your letter doesn’t have to be perfect, and you don’t have to be an expert to have an opinion. You simply need to care.

use your voice on social media

learn more
why use social media

Social media is a quick and easy way to speak up and tell your Member of Parliament (MP) that you care about immunization and access to vaccines. Get public attention and let Canada know that they should continue to be a global leader.

expert fact

Tweets with images can receive approximately 160% more retweets than those without.

secret tip

When posting on social media, be genuine and speak from the heart. People want to connect with other human beings online, so be yourself and it'll help you get your message across!

Call-to-action summary: 

Our call-to-action for June extends our multi-month campaign in support of the Global Fund’s Seventh Replenishment by focusing on one of the communities most affected by HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis (TB), and malaria – the LGBTQ2+ community – and why they must be front and centre in the fight against the three diseases. The Global Fund is our ticket to ending these epidemics and enacting the high-impact actions needed to realize #TheWorldWeNeed by strengthening global systems for a healthier, more equitable, pandemic-proof world.

MP \ ˈem-ˈpē \
: an elected member of a parliament

This letter is a major priority for our Global Fund advocacy. We want as many Members of Parliament as possible to sign on. Don’t just email it to them, call their staff to follow up!  

As one of the goals for the Week of Action to #FightForWhatCounts, May 30-June 3, we want to ensure Members of Parliament (MPs) sign a letter to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, encouraging Canada to continue its support for the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, TB, and Malaria (the Global Fund) with an announcement of an investment the Seventh Replenishment at the International AIDS Conference at the end of July. 

The official opportunity for the Global Fund’s replenishment is in fall 2022; however, the International AIDS Conference offers a strategic moment for Canada to pledge before the official replenishment, solidifying their global leadership role in strengthening global systems for a healthier, more equitable, pandemic-proof world.  

Email your Member of Parliament (MP) to show your support for Canada’s continued investment in the Global Fund. Tell them why it’s important to you and ask them if they would agree to put their name on the letter which encourages the Prime Minister to pledge an investment. To encourage their participation, you can share with them this list of parliamentarians who have already signed on. 

Did your MP already sign the letter? 

Check this list of parliamentarians to see if your MP has already signed the letter. You can still send an email to thank them! You can also do the same by posting on social media and tagging them in your “thank you” post. Don’t forget to use #Canada4Results! 

Follow up after two weeks with a phone call to ensure they received your email and had the chance to see the letter. Invite them to call you back or meet in June if they would like to discuss further, this way you can start or continue growing your relationship with your MP. This also gives a space for them to ask questions before signing the letter. 

The ask: To respond to the COVID-19 pandemic, recover globally and prepare for future threats, Canada must increase its International Assistance Envelope (IAE) by CAD$1.5 billion above the current 2020-21 financial commitments to reach CAD$9 billion in #Budget2022. 

read our top tips

  1. Know your MP and what speaks most to them: email? handwritten letter? social media?
  2. Be succinct and to the point - have one clear ask.
  3. Thank your MP for something recent that they’ve done or accomplished.
  4. Make sure to always ask for a response!
  5. Writing your own letter/email will go a long way. MPs receive a lot of correspondence and personalized (not automatic) letters/emails will stand out from the pile as they’ll know that you’ve taken the time

follow these 7 steps

  1. Use your postal code to find out who your MP is. 
  2. Familiarize yourself with our current campaign.
  3. Connect our campaign and your opinion with a newsworthy topic or hook that inspires you. Try these ideas:
    • refer here to our key dates, hashtags, tags and keywords
    • do internet research, read the latest news articles, or use external resources
    • refer to past volunteer LTEs and op-eds to see published examples
  4. Write your letter/email to let your MP know who you are, and what you would like them to do about the current campaign issue. See an example of a letter/email below.
    • add your MP’s email address (usually it is: firstname.lastname@parl.gc.ca) or find their mailing address
    • start by introducing yourself if your MP doesn’t know you
    • use your own words (refer to the EPIC format in "how to write to your MP")
    • ask for a response back to your letter/email
    • include your name, mailing address, telephone number (and email if it’s a handwritten letter)
  5. Press send if you’re sending your letter by email. If you’re mailing it, no stamp is required!
  6. Follow up with your MP via phone or by email if you haven’t heard back within 1 week for email, or 4 weeks for mail. See a follow-up letter/email example below.
  7. If you belong to a Results group, let your Group Leader know that you’ve submitted a letter/email to your MP. If you are not part of a group, consider joining one! Until then, fill out this “actions taken” online form.

see an example of a letter/email

August 9, 2019 

Mr. John Doe, MP 

House of Commons, 

Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0A6 

Subject: Saving lives with the Global Fund

Dear Mr. Doe: 

I write to you today as a member of your constituency who is concerned by so many people getting sick from preventable diseases across the globe. By way of introduction, I am a student of nursing at the University of Ottawa and I have always had a passion for health. 

I would like to start by thanking you for all of your efforts in improving our local community with your participation in community events and your contribution in providing funding for seniors’ housing in the Bayward district. 

In regards to the issue of global suffering, there were approximately 1.7million tuberculosis (TB) related deaths worldwide in 2017. This poses a significant health threat, and TB is now the world’s most deadly infectious disease. We know that this disease and other epidemics can be ended, and indeed deaths from HIV, TB and malaria have dropped by about 40% since 2000. 

Public-private partnerships such as the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, TB and Malaria are effective in increasing protection against diseases, and have helped 15 million people access treatment for TB, amongst other achievements. In 2017, Canada committed $785 million to the Global Fund to fight HIV/AIDS, TB and malaria. 

In 2019, the Global Fund is seeking from donors and partners globally. Many countries with just as large economies have pledged billions of dollars to the Global Fund. I believe Canada has the fiscal ability to increase our pledge commitment by 1.5%. 

With your seat on the Foreign Affairs and International Development Committee, I highly encourage you to use your voice to support this request. You can do so by writing to the Minister of International Development. 

If you could forward to me a copy of your correspondence to the Minister, that would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to attend to my email, and I look forward to your response. 

Sincerely, 

Bob Citizen 

5 Smith Street 

Ottawa, ON, K1A 2B3 

T: (555) 456-7890

E: bob.citizen@gmail.com

see an example of a follow-up letter/email

Subject: Re: Global Fund

Dear Mr. Doe:

I hope this email finds you well. I would like to follow up on a previous email found below sent on [date] in regards to your support on the Global Fund. I would kindly appreciate a response as soon as possible. Please let me know if I can provide further information. Thank you very much for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

Bob Citizen 

5 Smith Street 

Ottawa, ON, K1A 2B3 

T: (555) 456-7890

secret tip

MPs receive a lot of emails so be sure to come up with a catchy subject line to make yours stand out.

See all our resources to help you write your MP, along with key dates, hashtags, tags and keywords found on our call-to-action page.

Your Members of Parliament ultimately work for you and you do have power in your relationship with them! 

– Lindsay Sheridan, Results Canada staff

searcharrow-circle-up